Mysterious TechCrunch Ad Claims $50K USD Signing Bonus

During my vast explorations of the web, I made my way over to the ever powerful TechCrunch and saw a most interesting ad: “We are lookin for Web Developers and Web Designers. US $50,000 Sign-up Bonus 007 Benefits.

The ad leads to a page with no identifying information. The URL is simply an IP address and the contact is a gmail address - employer2.0@gmail.com. Only those who meet their criteria get to learn about the company’s mysterious identity.

After passing the six-month probationary period, the $50k bonus gets paid out. And oh yeah, apparently these designers / developers will be living “like a king in Asia” with a fully furnished flat and with whatever “gadgets” their folks need.

Sounds too good to be true…but an interesting way to grab attention. Thoughts?

 

3 Comments On This Post

  1. Doug says:
    February 2, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Surely a way to grab attention although most people will think it a scam and will stay far away.

  2. Joseph LeBlanc says:
    February 2, 2007 at 6:41 pm

    Seems spammy to me.

  3. Dave says:
    February 3, 2007 at 1:50 am

    Certainly you will be asked to pay a fee at some point. It is a spinoff of the Advance Fee Scam similar to the Nigerian 419 scam.

Voice your opinion